Close Menu

IIT Ethics Bowl Team

The IIT Ethics Bowl team is a student organization which competes in the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl Competition hosted yearly by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics. Usually meeting once a week, the team discusses the case studies for the regional competition which usually occurs in late October or early November, and if they qualify, the national competition which is usually held in late February or early March. For more information about how an ethical bowl competition works, please see the ethics overview page.

If you are interested in learning more about the team, please contact Kelly Laas at, or send a request to join the IIT Ethics Bowl Team's Google Group at

Past IIT Ethics Bowl Teams


Bioethics Bowl Team

Daniel Kirk '16

Jeremiah Shavers '15

Reno Waswil  '17

Coaches, Kelly Laas, Laura Seger

Ehics Bowl Team

Reno Waswil, ‘17

Aaron Truitt, ‘17 

Gaby Sumampouw  ‘15

Coaches , Kelly Laas, Laura Seger

2013-2014 Ethics Bowl Team

Austin Gonzalez '17

Kyle Stanevich '17

Gaby Sumampouw  ‘15

Aaron Truitt, ‘17

Coaches, Kelly Laas, Joseph Miller

2012-2013  Ethics Bowl Team

sEd Feibel (senior, architecture)

Kari Finseth (senior, architecture)

Alexis Renk (sophomore, biomedical engineering)

Tom Waller (junior, biomedical engineering)

Rui Chen (graduate, information technology and management)

Coach:Stephen Harris, Sawyier Predoctoral Fellow in Philosophy,

Assistant Coach: Kelly Laas, Librarian of the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions

2011-2012  Ethics Bowl Team

Raghuveer Cumar (senior, business)

Kari Finseth (junior, architecture)

Kim Nealy (senior, technical communications)

Ben Silver (senior, computer science)

Tom Waller (junior, biomedical engineering)

Coach: Krissanna Scheiter, Sawyier Predoctoral Fellow in Philosophy

Assistant Coach: Kelly Laas, Librarian of the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions