Punishment for Drunk Driving

TitlePunishment for Drunk Driving
Publication TypeCase Study
Year of Publication1995
AuthorsLadenson, R
Corporate Authorsof Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions, IIT
PublisherCenter for the Study of Ethics in the Professions, Illinois Institute of Technology
Publication Languageeng
KeywordsCRIMINAL , Criminal Justice , SOCIAL , Social Justice
AbstractIn New Jersey a person convicted of his first drunk driving offense faces a mandatory suspension of his license for six months, and the possibility of a thirty day jail sentence. In addition the offender must pay a mandatory fine of $250 and a $100 fee to support law enforcement efforts to catch other drunk drivers. Convicted drunk drivers are also required to undergo a minimum of 12 hours of counseling for which they must pay a $1,000 surcharge for each of three years, as well as $50 a day. In addition drunk drivers receive 9 "insurance points" that could subject them to huge increases of their insurance premiums. The total cost for a first offense of drunk driving in New Jersey probably exceeds $9,000. Is the New Jersey penalty for drunk driving fair or unfair?
NotesCase from the 1994 Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl
URLhttp://ethics.iit.edu/EEL/Drunk%20Driving.pdf
Full Text

Discipline: 

Subject: 

Publication: