Rawls and the Distribution of Human Resources by Those in the Animal Rights Community

TitleRawls and the Distribution of Human Resources by Those in the Animal Rights Community
Publication TypeJournal Article
Year of Publication2014
AuthorsClune, AC
JournalInternational Journal of Applied Philosophy
Volume28
Issue2
Pagination251-266
Date PublishedFall2014
Publication Languageeng
ISBN Number0739098X
KeywordsA , ANIMAL , DISTRIBUTIVE , John , personnel , REGAN , theory , Tom , UTILITARIANISM
AbstractUntil now, arguments for the distribution of resources by those who care about the plight of human-used animals have been either utilitarian or libertarian in nature. The utilitarian case has been made in writing by both activists and philosophers. The libertarian case is more a position that I have found comes naturally to many in the animal movement. In this article the author  makes use of elements of Rawls' A Theory of Justice to make a case for two principles of justice for the distribution of human resources by those in the animal rights community. My argument arises within the tradition of Tom Regan and Marc Rowlands where animals are held to possess negative rights. 
NotesClune, Alan C. 1; Affiliation: 1: Sam Houston State University; Source Info: Fall2014, Vol. 28 Issue 2, p251; Subject Term: PERSONNEL management; Subject Term: ANIMAL rights; Subject Term: UTILITARIANISM; Author-Supplied Keyword: animal activism; Author-Supplied Keyword: animal rights; Author-Supplied Keyword: distributive justice; Author-Supplied Keyword: John Rawls; Author-Supplied Keyword: utilitarianism; Reviews & Products: THEORY of Justice, A (Book : Rawls); NAICS/Industry Codes: 541612 Human Resources Consulting Services; NAICS/Industry Codes: 923130 Administration of Human Resource Programs (except Education, Public Health, and Veterans' Affairs Programs); People: REGAN, Tom; Number of Pages: 16p; Document Type: Article
DOI10.5840/ijap2014112431

Discipline: 

Subject: 

Publication: